Wednesday, July 30, 2008

In Sorrento

Hey another really quick update. Right now were in Sorrento. Its gorgeous, love the beach. In fact, were about to go swimming in it right now. And amazingly, its actually warm! Tomorrow were going to see Pompeii! Were loving the sun, though it doesnt love my skin that much. Were heading to Florence the day after tomorrow. Sorry for the lack of updates, but weve been camping for the last week and a half! Well internets almost out so I have to go!

Tuesday, July 22, 2008

See you in a bit...

Hey everyone, I don't have much time (I'm catching a train at nine, leaving in two minutes), but I thought I would still make a short post.

Laura and I had an AMAZING time in Berlin, we loved our hostel and the city. We'll update you more on that later. Now we're going to Salzburg Austria, where we are camping and plan to go see the ice caves, look them up, we're excited!! We probably won't have internet while in that stay, just as a heads up!

So next time we talk we may be in Italy!

Until next time,
Amy

Friday, July 18, 2008

Amsterdam...

We arrived in Amsterdam and wandered around for a very little amount of time for us in search of the bus station. (only say, 10 minutes, instead of the normal 30 minute wandering) (I blame Laura). I'm going to start off by saying, that Laura and I LOVE the Dutch. All of the bus drivers were SO nice and friendly, as were the other random ones we interacted with. We got to our campground, fingers crossed that they hadn't cancelled our reservation (we arrived a day late, you remember). They had. They looked all around for it, and eventually found it in a no show pile. They told us we should have called, and we looked sad and pitiful, saying there was ABSOLUTELY no internet. They told us we were lucky, and it wasn't too busy and we could have a spot. We thanked them, and showed our appreciation by buying some spaghetti and sauce (and ice cream...yum) and guess what. THEY HAD PEANUT BUTTER. We have been missing peanut butter SO MUCH. We had some jam, but no bread..but that doesn't matter. ITS PEANUT BUTTER. We made ourselves some dinner, and ventured off into the beautiful country around us, full of lake and water (which themselves are full of algae). It was beautiful, and honestly reminded us a lot of home.

The next day we planned to get up bright and early and bus into Amsterdam, take a free 11 oclock tour (same company as London and Edinburgh) then wander the town all day. That didn't really work out. We slept in, which is always fun. We were lazy and lounging and could barely of made the 1 oclock tour, and only if we rushed. So we decided instead of risking missing it (we'd be in the city, with no map, with no idea where anything is, and not enough space for stamps for the bus to come back the next day and actually see the tour) SO we enjoyed the countryside some more. Poor us! The weather wasn't as nice (did I mention it was realllly hot the first day?), but we sat on a bench, put our jackets on our laps as blankets and were quite comfy. We ate peanut butter and jam. YUM, again. Not too much to say about that day! Hey, that rhymed!

The next day we actually woke up in time to get to town for the....1 oclock tour. But at least we made it to it and weren't late! We enjoyed it, we saw about the houses, we saw Anne Frank's house, learned about all the history of the city and its interesting laws. It was really interesting.

As those of you who've already read this now, Laura and I had a fight and she left me. But we were able to find each other, and she will NOT do that again.

After the ferry we went to a bookstore, and like us, even after that MAJOR fight, we started laughing and and were fine..like, in 5 minutes. I think it may have been that I was buying a book!!! And Laura was buying a Journal, something we've wanted to do in a LONG time. I haven't read a book since the Lakes District! ACKKKK! I bought the Diary of Anne Frank, which was a beautifully interesting read (yes, its me, I finished it within 24hrs).

We went back to the camping site, ate, the usual. That was our stay in Amsterdam. Because the train station incident turned out ok, and we stopped fighting, it wasn't bad, don't get us wrong. We move on, and its a near...soon to be, funnyish story of the past. And we loved Amsterdam, so it did not ruin that either.

We made it successfully to Rostock the next day. (There was a 2 hr line for service, but luckily because we had the Eurail and didn't need to buy tickets, we were able to get direct help so we knew what trains to take). We arrived in Rostock at nine thirty pm, worried that our hostel was closed. We just do not have good luck. We also did not know where our hostel WAS. We asked the information lady at the train station, but kind of got lost. So we asked a nice couple with a young son as they were getting out of their car, but they weren't really sure. So we continued to walk on, and asked a nice old man who was just learning English, and told us to follow him. We did, and he showed us right to the door of the hostel! We were SOOO grateful! We went up, and luckily, there was still someone working there for the hostel, even though it technically was past check in by a half hour by then (ten thirty). He let us check in, in cash sadly, but we got our room and slept beautifully.

Today is the next day, Friday, and we walked on a boardwalk on the water, and came here and used internet, I think thats been our whole day! But even though its taking us hours here, its worth it because we haven't been online in a week! Tomorrow we plan to take a ferry/tram to the ocean, wheres there are beaches, and if its sunny maybe we'll dip our feet in a little!

Well thats all for now, we have to figure out how to get to our next destination, and we have to book hostel after hostel after hostel! Yay.

So until next time,
Amy and Laura

A paris!

A lot happened since we last wrote to you, oh boy! Ok, well as we mentioned, our next desitnation was camping in Amsterdam. Well we went to the train station bright and early, around nine oclock, and asked them how we can get to Amsterdam without any reservations (which cost money). The lady looked and looked and couldn't come up with a single thing. So we were like, ok, how about cheap reservations? She looked and looked again and said nope, unless a cheap reservation is the €150 fare from Paris to Amsterdam, then it is not possible to get to Amsterdam today. Laura and I were like...ok...interesting turn of events. We bought 4 oclock tickets to Paris (€3 reservation) , but we decided that we wanted internet, so that we could figure out if there was a bus, or some other option after that. (Don't worry, the instant Laura said hitchhike I said NO) So we walked, with our bags, mind you a reasonable ish ten minute walk to an internet cafe. But oh no! Its Sunday, its not open. Well darn, we know theres another one near the Cathedral, and its bigger, so we think, well its more likely to be open! So we walk the less reasonable 30 minute walk with our bags over in that direction. Oh, how lovely, as were getting closer the big metal gate closing it is getting shinier and shinier. Just great! We rest our feetsies of course, and go back to the train station, about a 25 minute walk. We go to the counter, and it is BUSY. We stand in line, but the English speaking one isn't availiable, so we slowly walk up to the counter. Through broken English and French we were able to tell him that we wanted to get to Amsterdam, from Paris, tomorrow. I told him we were already going to be sleeping in Paris tonight, so tomorrow we would need one to Amsterdam. Sadly, he didn't realize that we already HAD these tickets to be in Paris, and we paid an extra (non refundable) €3 each, not much, but we're on a tight budget! We also paid €13 to reserve our spot on the other train. Lovely! But at least we're getting there.

This is about when we would want to call our hostel for the night and tell them that we can't get in. But remember, no internet, that means no phone number! That means we just wait and hope that they don't cancel our reservation and rebook the room! We met a couple of girls from Florida while waiting, they were doing a 6 wk Law School exchange program at Oxford. They said they lived on a budget, but the place they offered us for the night in paris (very nice of them by the way) was ONLY 60 dollars a night, per person. We said thank you, but no thank you.

The train to Paris was rather uneventful, and we were able to arrive in the beautiful city at 5pm. We were at a different station then the one that our train left from in the morning, so we looked at a map (a few times) and figured out how to walk to the other, luckily only 10 minutes away. Once we got there, we asked the service desk if there ever so possibly could be a baggage storage. And guess what! THERE WAS. So we went down there, put our bag in a €7, 48 hr storage locker and went on our way. And the direction of our way was the Eiffel Tower of course! We got a one way ticket for the metro, and luckily when we were leaving, there was a herd of people going through the disabled door, skipping the thing that takes zour ticket away! So we joined them of course, and didn't have to give up our ticket. Yes, we like to save money, even 1.50 euro for a ticket. Shush.

We walked, looking for the sky, figuring it would show us where to go! I mean, we got off at the Tour d'Eiffel exit afterall. We just couldn't see it, so we followed the crowd. Suddenly there was a parting in the trees and we were RIGHT next to it. It was pretty awesome. We took some pictures, and bought some bread and cheese (how appropriate) and went to sit on the lawn and listen to music. The weather was nice, we had food and a place to sit, the fact that we had no where to stay that night was beside the point! We opened the cheese and OMG it stunk. We ate this cheese before in Germany, but apparently its made different in France. It was unbearable, EVEN FOR LAURA. That was a waste of €3, but luckily we still had jam from before and were able to enjoy the bread. We sat here, got up to get some delicious crepes to warm up (recommended by those girls from Florida) and continued to sit. We stayed for the 10 o'clock then 11 o'clock shows (lighting and sparkling)

DO you want to know what SUCKS? We arrived the DAY before Bastille day, meaning the day before big parties, major celebration at the Eiffel Tower and FREE ADMITTANCE INTO NATIONAL MUSEUMS, INCLUDING THE LOUVRE. Yea, and we had a 9am train out the next morning. It was upsetting, but we knew that we would want to see that with Rachel in a month (to the day) and that it would be less fun for her if we'd just seen it. EVEN if it was free...

We headed back to the train station (our planned hotel) and were able to use our one way tickets, which were actually not checked either getting onto the metro NOR leaving it. Faulty system, I'd say. We made ourselves a little bed on the floor of the station, and we were playing some cards when a man who worked there said, 'You know this closes in an hour, right?' (but in french) and we were like UHOH nopes! We were like...ok well theres a park like 10 minutes from here...we'll stay here for the hour, then go there for three, then come back when it opens at 4! During that hour, a group of Britains came and sat near us, as did two other college age people down the way. We heard people being shooed out down stairs, and the Britain asked us if we had to go, and we said...yes, in like 20 minutes. So he went up and asked a man if there was anyway we could sleep inside (otherwise they would join us in the park, safety in numbers!). The man started leading us, telling us to follow. We were worried he would lead us to the door (where the dog was barking at people), but instead, he led us to a train! And he told us that we had to be out by 5 and said goodbye. It was amazing! We had a warm place to sleep! We were all ecstatic!

We had a long boring wait til the train, filled with a little grumpiness (it turned colder as the night went on, and Laura didn't sleep very well). We got some food and got onto our train, and had a very nice 5 hr venture to Amsterdam.

I hopefully will continue to update, right about now!

Saturday, July 12, 2008

Ack...

Sorry for the horribly long gap between this and the last post! We had a long recap one, but it got deleted and we just havent had a chance since. This one wont be great because its so hard to type! And were at an expensive internet cafe!!

this is zhqt its like zhen i type nor,ql; it ,qy not see, thqt bqd; but itms kind of hqrd to reqd; qye§ so thqt is zhy i hqve to type reqlly sloz qnd i dont like it11

(this is what its like when i type normal)

Iù, going to type A's as Q and M's as , or ? becquse thqt is just SO ,uch eqsier: THQNK YOU Qnd qlso W is Z!!!

Qfter lqkes district; we went to Cqnterbury: The town wqs cute; not too ,uch to sqy qbout it though: Ze liked the hostel q lot; ze ,qde friends zith q girl fro, Cqliforniq: Ze qlso zent to q sing qlong pqstq night; held by q very q,using Itqliqn ,qn; zhich zqs reqlly reqlly fun: Ze zpent the dqy follozing in London; qnd slept thqt night in the qirport; (cheqper) qnd flez into Frqnkfurt; Ger,qny the next ,orning: Ze hqd q hoorrrrriiiibbbblllleeee dqy in the beginning; q lot of difficulties zith finding the right triqns (did you knoz they speqk ger,qn?); qnd ze zere qlreqdy tired qnd ze couldnt get on the cruise up the rhine thqt ze zqnted; so qll in qll it just zqsnt the best: BUT luckily ze got to Dusseldorf; our destinqtion; qnd zere qble to relqx qnd eqt in q little courtyqrd; qnd therefore the dqy picked up nicely:

Dusseldorf zqs difficult; becquse ze dont speqk ger,qn; but it zqs cool to be in q foreign speqking country; its been q zhile for both of us:

Ze then heqded to Bruges; zhich zqs q reqlly cute; but reqlly touristy tozn: Ze zqlked qround; qnd it zqs gorgeous; lots of zqter chqnnels through the tozn; nice brick buildings qnd streets; but it closes very eqrly: Like; if you think ed,onds closes eqrly; go to Bruges: Like:::the grocery stores closes qround dinner ti,e: REDICULOUS! Sqdly it rqined; but ze zere qble to ,qke it out zhen it zqs dry; zhich is lucky:

Then ze hqd q long dqy of trqvelling to Rei,s Frqnce: Ze chose this plqce just becuqse ze needed so,ezhere to stqy before ze heqded to Q,sterdq, (to,orroz): Ze chose q route zith qbout 5 seperqte connections becquse it zqs free; co,pqred to reserving q spot zhich cost q lot of ,oney: This ,eqnt thqt ze zent to s,qller tozns; qnd ze zere in q LOT of plqces zhere NO ONE spoke English: THQT ?EQNS I HQD TO SPEQK FRENCH!!!!! it zqs crqzy: One of the trqins zqs on bus replqce,ent; qnd ze hqd to zqit for tzo hours in q s,qll stqtion: Ze didnt qrrive in Rei,s until 9p,; qnd zere zorried thqt the hostel zould be closed; qnd even zrose; ze didnt knoz zhere it zqs so ze hqd to go qnd find qn internet cqfe; zhich is rqre here:

Qnyzqy; Rei,s is reqlly nice; ze spent q dqy zqndering the pqrks (there qre q lot); then todqy ze looked qt the tozn center; zhich hqs Notre Dame Cathedral: Zhich zqs azeso,e looking:

Sorry for the bqd englihs; just blq,e the french; everyone qlzqys does: Its just so expensive qnd SOOOOOO sloz to type zith these three keys to different (others qre zrong too; but you dont use the, qs ,uch): Zere heqded off to go cq,ping in Q,sterdq,; so thqtll be qn qdventure: Ze ,qy not hqve internet in Q,sterdq,; depends on the price; so zell get bqck to you zhen ze cqn:

On qnother note; our grqnd,other Beryl Wilson just pqssed qzqy; qnd ze zqnted to ,qke note thqt she zill be greqtly ,issed qnd thqt our heqrts qre zith our fq,ily: WE LOVE YOU!

Q,y qnd Lqurq

Wednesday, July 2, 2008

Butts

Butts from Europe:














The peeing horse in Edinburgh














Dolly in the National Museum in Edinburgh














London, Hyde Park (?)














Dinosaur! London Natural History Museum














Windermere sheep

more to be continued...
So, as you can see, pictures are up! Go back and look at them! Rotate your head for some of them (instructions provided at the necessary photos)! It's exciting!

We are in Windermere, in the Lakes Disctrict. We've spent our time lazying around, going down to the lake, playing on trees and climbing up hills with new friends, spending hours at a viewpoint where we have a 360 view over rolling green hills and the lake, down in hidden nook by the lake. It's been wonderful. I love it here. Parents, this place goes on the list. Our hostel is unmanned, and small, which makes it seem more like a home than a hotel. We have been making dinner and lunches too... we bought enough food for 2.5 days at the beginning (for £13.50) which is much easier on the wallet (we splurged a little for amy's birthday which was fun, but ouch did it hurt).



(head rotation necessary... 90 degrees to the right. This was our view for lunch yesterday. HAHA we get to eat here when you dont!)


We found a small ball on the train to London. I took it with me, because it was left behind by a group of very annoying early-teenagers. Being Amy and I, we named it: Winston.



I'm not sure I have much more to say, but I will put up some pictures. I have a habit of taking pictures of animal behinds... so you get to walk with us through our trip so far through animal behinds. Actually... so that I dont have to move them all, I'm going to make another post of all random pictures. So you just looked at the pictures, most likely...